photo_2016-12-31_11-59-25
Mohammed Bouyeri(Left) and Theo Van Gogh

In the early morning of 2 November, 2004 in Amsterdam, when the notorious dutch film maker, Theo Van Gogh, who insulted Islam and Quran, was bicycling to work, a Moroccan-Dutch Muslim, Muhammed Bouyeri shot him several times with a hand gun.

Bouyeri then walked up to Van Gogh, who was still lying down, and calmly shot him several more times at close range. He then cut van Gogh’s throat and tried to decapitate him with a large knife, after which he stabbed the knife deep into Van Gogh’s chest, reaching his spinal cord and ensuring his death.

During his trial Bouyeri told the judge:

“Saying that what I did was because of insults to my North African identity, or because I was depicted in unfair terms.. all of this has no basis. I took this step because of my faith and I want to make this clear that, had it been my father or my brother in his place, I would have done the same.

You may bring all your psychiatrists, doctors and experts, but you will never be able to understand what happened. If I were to be set free and given the same opportunity again, I would repeat what I did on the 2nd of November. I swear by Allah that i would do the same”

photo_2016-12-31_11-59-29
Theo Van Gogh dead, after being shot and stabbed by Bouyeri
