photo_2017-01-22_20-35-51

Generally prisoners would not know when they are due to be executed because of public sensitivities. Consequently, the date of the execution of Sayyid Qutb was kept hidden even from Sayyid Qutb himself. On the day of his execution, the military officers entered Sayyid Qutb’s cell, under the pretext that he has been ordered to change his cell quarters. However Sayyid Qutb knew that this was not just another cell change and said, “I know where you are taking me, for the Prophet Muhammed came to me in my dream and told me (about today), so take me.”

So they took Sayyid Qutb to the place of his execution. Everybody saw him with a beaming smile on his face, he was extremely happy and waving to the prison guards. Before the execution, he said:

“I am living a life that I have never lived before. I am feeling the true meaning of Emaan [true Belief]. I fully understand ‘Aqeedah (Islamic belief) as its meant to be understood more than ever before. I am waiting for my shahadah (martyrdom), and I have never lived a life better than the life I am living right now.”

On receiving his death sentence in court, Sayyid Qutb said, “Alhamdullilah. I performed Jihad for fifteen years until I earned this Shahadah (martyrdom).”

