animation
The Taifa (small kingdom) states of al – Andalus in 1031 after the fall of the Caliphate of Cordoba

In the year 1091 the last sovereign king of al-Andalus, Al-Mu’tamid, saw his Abbadid-inherited taifa of Seville, controlled since 1069, in jeopardy of being taken by the increasingly stronger king of Castile-León, Alfonso VI.

When Al-Mu’tamid wanted to call on Yusuf Ibn Tashfin for help, his son, Rashid, advised him not to, yet Al Mu’tamid replied with his famous quote:

“I have no desire to be branded by my descendants as the man who delivered al-Andalus as prey to the infidels. I am loath to have my name cursed in every Muslim pulpit. And, for my part, I would rather be a camel-driver in Africa than a swineherd in Castile.”

Yusuf Ibn Tashfin answered Al- Mu’tamid’s call and came to al-Andalus from Africa to help the Muslims fight against Alfonso VI, eventually achieving victory and promoting an Islamic system in the region.

