photo_2017-04-24_23-17-55
An aerial view of the Jamia Hafsa madrasa, inside the Red Mosque (Lal Masjid) compound during July 2007 operation

A female student of Jamia Hafsa Madrassa in Pakistan narrated her experience during the July 2007 Lal Masjid Massacre orchestrated by the Pakistan Army against Muslims:

“Our companions, our friends, our younger and elder sisters: where are they? When I came out of the Madrassa, there were 100 bodies of our sisters inside the Madrassa. Today, their parents are telling us over the phone that they haven’t found their daughters yet. Almost 95 of our brothers were there, and we counted their bodies ourselves; and believe me, when we got out of there, our hands were scarlet with blood.

We were screaming that today we have decorated our hands with the henna of blood. We used to hear in the past that our sisters in Kashmir adorn their hands with the henna of blood, but we witnessed the practical demonstration of this inside Lal Masjid. So when I got out, my clothes were drenched in blood. My hands – by lifting the bodies of my brothers – by lifting the bodies of my sisters – my hands were scarlet with blood.”

